Shop Update

I’d like to start by extending a sincere thank you to each of you that have expressed well-wishes, congratulations and support for the shop! The response so far as been tremendous, and I am so thankful that many other whisky drinkers share my enthusiasm and excitement for this project.

The good news is that from tomorrow the shop will be ready, the not-so-good news though, is that the opening has to be delayed by a short while. When embarking on this venture, I knew from the start that the greatest difficulty would be navigating the bureaucratic red-tape at the provincial liquor board, in order to receive my liquor license. I’ll spare you the details, but in short, all conditions have been met, and the license has been approved, but I have still not received it. Without the license I cannot order from distributors nor can I legally sell alcohol, and so although the shop is complete, my shelves are empty and I have to wait.

It is a frustrating situation, but is not exactly unexpected when dealing with government departments that have as much urgency as whisky maturing in a cask. As much as I would like to set another opening date, I’ve learnt my lesson and thus will refrain until I have the liquor license in hand. (Just to give some indication  I expect the delay to be around another two weeks; so I am very much still expecting to open this year.)

From your responses, I know you share my disappointment in this delay, and I apologise for making you wait just a tad bit longer. I promise to make it up to you once the doors are open. In the meantime, if you are in the vicinity of Hyde Park Corner, the shop hoarding has been removed, so you can now sneak a peak into the store. If I happen to be inside, get my attention and I’ll gladly give you a private tour. Thank you for your patience, and see you soon!

Posted on November 21, 2012, in SA Whisky News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Daniela Jacobsohn

    It looks gorgeous already!! I love the black trim on the beige boards!! Love it!

  2. Looking good Brother ;)

  3. Very upmarket, well done

  4. Sorry to hear that your opening has been delayed, Marc. I hope it all gets sorted for you soon, and look forward to reading about and seeing pics from the opening! Best of luck once again, and have a great Christmas!

    Martin

  5. Great store. Will be back!

  6. hi whisky brother. Would like to know when the whiskybrother shop website will be online.?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers